arranging that every country should be bound to convey the mails of other countries by its land or sea services at the lowest possible rates.

The next postal conference was held in Paris in May, 1878, when the Dominion of Canada was admitted a member from the following 1st July, and letters, newspapers and other printed matter, samples and patterns, became subject to uniform postage rates and regulations for all places in Europe, and for all other countries that were members of the Union. The existing postal arrangements with the United States were allowed to remain undisturbed, being of a more liberal and advantageous character than the ordinary regulations of the treaty. At this meeting the regulations of the Treaty of 1874 were revised and embodied in a convention which came into force on 1st April, 1879.

The third conference was held at Lisbon, in February, 1885, and Canada was represented by the delegates of the British post office. No material change was made in the convention of 1879.

The fourth conference was held at Vienna, in May, 1891, and Canada was represented by the High Commissioner at London, Hon. Sir Charles Tupper, Bart., G.C.M.G. At this meeting the admission of the Australasian colonies was agreed upon, and those countries joined the union on 1st October, 1891. A number of measures, all tending towards facilitating the transmission of correspondence, were agreed upon. The next meeting will be held at Washington, D.C., United States.

The Union now includes almost every civilized country in the world, being composed of the following :—The whole of Europe; the whole of America; in Asia—Russia in Asia, Turkey in Asia, Persia, British India (Hindustan), Burmah and the postal establishments at Aden, Mascat and Guadur), Japan, Siam, the British, French, Dutch, Spanish and Portuguese colonies and the British, French, German and Japanese postal establishments in China and Corea. In Africa—Egypt, Algeria, Tripoli, Tunis, Liberia, Congo Free State, the Azores, Madeira, the postal establishments of India and France at Zanzibar, the French, Italian, Portugese and Spanish colonies, some of the British colonies, the Orange Free State, all the territories under the protectorate of Germany, and the French postal establishment at Tamatave (Madagascar). In Australasia and Oceanica—the British colonies on the continent, Tasmania, New Zealand, Fiji, British and German New Guinea, Hawaii, the Marshall Islands and the French, Dutch and Spanish colonies.

A central office, under the name of the "Bureau International de l'Union Postale," has been established at Berne, at the cost of the various countries composing the Union. At the time that the Treaty of Berne came into force, 1st July, 1875, the jurisdiction of the Union extended over an area of about 14,293,750 square miles, with upwards of 350 millions of inhabitants, whereas it now extends over an area of 37,000,000 square miles and 1,001,926,234 inhabitants.

The number of pieces of postal matter distributed over the whole area of the Union during 1892 was computed at 7,825 millions of letters; 1,760 millions of postal cards; 6,479 millions of papers, printed matter and official documents; 132 millions of samples; 42 millions of registered letters with a declared value of \$8,028,400,000; 307 millions of money orders and postal credits, with a value of \$3,061,752,000, making a total of 16,821 millions of pieces of mail matter. The prevailing rates among Postal Union